Generally Australia’s state and territory governments are responsible for the protection of Australia’s Indigenous heritage places. All states and territories have laws that protect various types of Indigenous heritage.

The Commonwealth is responsible for protecting Indigenous heritage places that are nationally or internationally significant, or that are situated on land that is owned or managed by the Commonwealth. This protection operates under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999.